Honouring excellence throughout the Whenua.

The LGNZ EXCELLENCE Awards recognise and celebrate councils that punch above their weight to promote and grow the wellbeing of their communities.

The Awards are judged on a combination of criteria, incorporating best practice and components from the CouncilMARK™ excellence programme's four priority areas.

Award categories

The categories for 2022 are as below:

• Air New Zealand EXCELLENCE Award for Environmental Wellbeing
• MartinJenkins EXCELLENCE Award for Economic Wellbeing
• Kāinga Ora Homes and Communities EXCELLENCE Award for Social Wellbeing
• Creative New Zealand EXCELLENCE Award for Cultural Wellbeing
• Te Tari Taiwhenua Internal Affairs EXCELLENCE Award for Outstanding Contribution to Local Government
• Fulton Hogan Local overall EXCELLENCE Award

Awards timeline

EXCELLENCE Awards LaunchedFebruary 2022
Entrants complete Expression of Interest formDue 18 March 2022
Shortlist selection and notification 31 March 2022
Shortlist complete full applicationDue 29 April 2022 
Judges select award recipients and Sponsor selects overall category recipientMid May 2022
Conference dinner and EXCELLENCE Awards recipients announcedEnd of May 2022